I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 138

Introduced by:

Frank T. Ishizaki A. B. Palacios, Sr. <u>Frank F. Blas, Jr.</u> Judith Paulette Guthertz Ray Tenorio Edward J.B. Calvo James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio David L.G. Shimizu J. T. Won Pat

Relative to memorializing the accomplishments of the late Hazime Techemang Telei, Director of the Bureau of Public Safety of the Republic of Palau, and offering condolences to the Telei family.

- 1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I* 2 *MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN*:
- 3

WHEREAS, Mr. Hazime Techemang Telei was commissioned in 1982 as

4 a Police Officer I under the Bureau of Public Safety, Palau; and

WHEREAS, Director Telei personified professionalism and integrity in
 public safety as a Police Officer I and was honorably promoted to Police
 Officer II in 1982; and

WHEREAS, Director Telei continuously exemplified public safety
adeptness and was elected as Vice President of the Board of Directors of the
Palau Community Action Agency (PCAA) in 1989, which he served until his
death; and

8 WHEREAS, Director Telei was promoted to the rank of Police Sergeant,
9 Bureau of Public Safety in 1991; and

WHEREAS, Director Telei was assigned as the Commander of a Special
Task Force within the Bureau of Public Safety in 1993; and

WHEREAS, Director Telei was assigned as the Crime Stoppers
Coordinator and Public Information Officer for the Bureau of Public Safety in
14 1994; and

WHEREAS, Director Telei, ascended to the position of Acting Chief,
Division of Corrections in 1995; and

WHEREAS, Director Telei was appointed as the Coordinator of the
National Emergency Management Office, under the Office of the Vice
President of the Republic of Palau in 1997; and

20 WHEREAS, Director Telei was appointed as Director of the Bureau of 21 Public Safety, Republic of Palau on September 28, 2003, and remained there 22 until his death; and

WHEREAS, Director Telei was instrumental in the development and
initiation of the Micronesian Police Executives Association (MPEA) of which

he served as Chairman of the Fourth (4th) Micronesian Police Executives
 Association (MPEA) from July 2006 to August 2007; and

WHEREAS, Director Telei initiated a resolution at the Thirty-fourth (34th) South Pacific Chiefs of Police (SPCP) Conference in Tonga, which proposed the change of name of the South Pacific Chiefs of Police (SPCP) to the Pacific Islands Chiefs of Police (PICP) to unite in name all members of the organization, and served as Chairman of the Pacific Islands Chiefs of Police

8 (PICP) from July 2006 to October 2007; and

3

4

5

6

7

9 WHEREAS, Director Telei through his dedicated service, innovation, 10 commitment, and professionalism, profoundly influenced, shaped and 11 molded the Republic of Palau's Bureau of Public Safety into the organization 12 that it is today; now, therefore, be it

13 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the 14 15 people of Guam, extend heartfelt condolences to the family of Mr. Hazime 16 Techemang Telei for their loss, and laud and honor Director Hazime 17 Techemang Telei for his twenty-five (25) years of service to the people of 18 Palau and expresses sincere gratitude for his contributions towards the 19 enhancement of the Law Enforcement network between Guam, Palau, the 20 Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Island (CNMI), the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), and other 21 22 agencies within the Pacific region; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption

1 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to his wife 2 Elenita Telei; to the Honorable Tommy E. Remengesau, Jr., President of the 3 Republic of Palau; to the Honorable Emanuel Mori, President of the Federated 4 States of Micronesia; to the Honorable Kessai Note, President of the Republic of the Marshall Islands; to the Honorable Benigno Fitial, Governor of the 5 Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands; to the Honorable 6 7 Madeleine Z. Bordallo, Guam's Congressional Delegate, U. S. House of Representatives; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan. 8

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 5TH DAY OF NOVEMBER 2007.

EDWÁRD J.B. ĆALVO Acting Speaker and Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO

RAY TENORIO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature